In the 1880s the first farmers settled in this district. The area was known as Honey Grove.
In 1893 the village, consisting of a trading store, a Lutheran church and a few houses, was named Harburg. The present church was built in 1896 and the Congregation celebrates regular Sunday Services (9.00) in German and in English and plays an important part in the social life of the district.
The village is situated in a picturesque rural setting and consists of a few houses and a police station. The tennis courts and clubhouse are a social meeting place on a Saturday afternoon.
The garage, service station and caravan park are situated about 3 km from the village.